9Bach - Anian

9Bach - Anian

  • £12.99

9Bach made their name by taking traditional Welsh folk songs and recasting them onto a spectral and haunting sound canvas. Their 2014 album Tincian was the worthy winner of the coveted Best Album in the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2015.   New album Anian, whilst influenced by the Welsh traditions, comes from an altogether more anarchic place - calling for change, questioning the world and the role we play, how we treat animals and disregard nature. Darker in themes, but not without a sense of hope. Ethereal female Welsh language vocals shimmer alongside harp, swamp guitar, dub beats and a pounding rhythm section. 
  • Includes a free companion CD (tracks included with the download coupon with the LP) "In dy lais" / "In your voice". Writers, actors, poets and singers give their own interpretations of the songs as a way to convey the meaning to a non-Welsh speaking language. Includes contributions from Peter Gabriel, Maxine Peake and Rhys Ifans.

Tracks -

01. Llyn du

02. Anian

03. Yr Olaf

04. Ifan

05. Si Hwi Hwi

06. Cyfaddefa

07. Brain

08. Heno

09. Deryn

10. Ambell Hiraeth

11. Breuddwyd y Bardd.

We Also Recommend