Skip to content
Sgroliwch i waelod y sgrîn i newid yr iaith
Sgroliwch i waelod y sgrîn i newid yr iaith

Rhos Male Voice Choir - Noe! Noe!

Save £2.98
Original price £12.98
Current price £10.00

On this Christmas CD we hope you enjoy the wide range and styles heard – from the 13th Century plainsong of Veni Emmanuel to the current pop song Mistletoe by Justin Bieber.

This CD has a collection of Christmas carols old and new. The choir recognises the importance of history and tradition, but also looks to the future and supports contemporary composers. See Amid the Winter Snow, Hark the Herald Angels Sing, God rest Ye Merry Gentlemen and O Come All Ye Faithful are all still favourites for many today.

A New Year Carol was composed by the prolific English composer Benjamin Britten. The carol comes from a selection of songs from the larger scale work Friday Afternoons. This work was composed for the pupils of Prestatyn School, where the composer’s brother was the Headmaster and the title refers to the fact that Friday was the day when singing activities were held in the school. The carol is a British folk song of Welsh origin, traditionally sung in the New Year celebrations involving sprinkling people with water newly drawn from a well. Another English composer featured on the CD is Ralph Vaughan Williams’ arrangement of I Saw Three Ships. This comes from the larger scale work of Nine Carols For Male Voice Choir. Vaughan Williams arranged these carols during World War I for the ‘choir’ he developed among the men in his Field Ambulance unit.

The CD also includes three international carols by the prolific American composer Mack Wilberg. The first is the French Carol Noe! Noe!. This is followed by the Austrian carol and lullaby Still, Still, Still. In this the words describe the peace of the infant Jesus and his mother as the baby is sung to sleep. The Virgin Mary Had a Baby Boy is a spirited arrangement for four hands and percussion, and is in the calypso style of a traditional West Indian carol. Christmas in the Trenches is a ballad by the American folk writer and singer John McCutcheon. It tells the story of the 1914 Christmas Truce between the British and German lines during the Great War from the perspective of a British soldier. Performing and commissioning works is an important part of the choir’s schedule. The CD features a number of carols by Welsh composers and arrangers. These include Robat Arwyn, John Tudor Davies, Gareth Glyn, Brian Hughes, Myfyr Isaac, Caryl Parry Jones and the late W S Gwynn Williams. A number of the carols on the CD have been specially arranged for the choir by the choir’s Musical Director Aled Phillips.

Track Listing

  1.   Noe! Noe!
  2.   Veni Emmanuel
  3.   Carol y Seren
  4.   A New Year's Carol
  5.   Cowboy Carol
  6.   Coventry Carol
  7.   Christmas in the Trenches
  8.   Hark the Herald Angels Sing
  9.   Hwiangerdd Mair
  10.   Mistletoe
  11.   God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  12.   Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas
  13.   I Saw Three Ships
  14.   Mae'n Wir
  15.   Stori'r Preseb
  16.   See Amid the Winter Snow
  17.   Nadolig Llawen i Chi Gyd
  18.   O Holy Night
  19.   Still Still Still
  20.   The Virgin Mary Had a Baby Boy
  21.   O Deuwch Ffyddloniaid

We currently aim to dispatch all orders received 3 times a week, on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays.

Please get in touch if your order is urgent, we will try our best to help you.

Thank you for supporting a small business during these challenging times.  Every single order means the world to us!

Delivery options

  • We offer free ‘click and collect’ for customers in Oswestry and Wrexham.
  • We offer free local delivery for orders £20 and over, within 20 miles of Oswestry.
  • We offer free delivery for orders £30 and over

For other orders, our delivery rates are based on the value of your order:

UK Delivery

We currently aim to dispatch orders three times a week, via 1st Class Royal Mail or Collect+ Yodel courier, expected* delivery time is 2-3 working days.

Orders £3 and under


Orders £8 and under


Orders £30 and under


Orders over £30 Free!

International Delivery

Please note: Large or heavy items being delivered to addresses outside of the EU may be subject to higher courier fees not calculated correctly in the shopping basket. If this happens we will search all available courier options to ensure we offer you the cheapest courier price available. We will then contact you to see if you wish to proceed with your order. 

  • Delivery aim 5 working days*
  • No signature required
  • Delivery rates based on order weight £3.50 - £15

World Zone 1

  • Delivery aim 7 working days*
  • No signature required
  • Deliver rates based on order weight £4 - £15

World Zone 2

  • Delivery aim 7 working days*
  • No signature required
  • Delivery rates based on order weight £4.50 - £15.50

Purchasing items as a gift

We can send your order direct to the recipient – simply enter a different delivery address at the checkout. You can add a gift message, you can also request us to gift wrap items and we are more than happy to write in greeting cards on your behalf. Just let us know in the notes box at checkout. There will be no prices displayed on the invoice when an order is sent direct to the recipient.

Personalised and bespoke items

If you're ordering a bespoke item, please bear in mind your item will be made before it is posted to you.

Order status and tracking

We recommend creating an account with us so you can easily check the status of your order and track the delivery of your order.

 *Variations and extensions in delivery time may occur, due to the current Coronavirus situation, and this is unfortunately out of our control.

 Please contact us if you have any questions at all.